These are the outcomes! The 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards, which honor some of the most outstanding creative minds in the fashion business today, brought together members of the American fashion industry at the American Museum of Natural History on Monday night.

The event was sponsored by Amazon Fashion for the second year in a row, and was hosted by Anne Hathaway (who saved the day less than a week before the ceremony, when originally scheduled emcee Sarah Jessica Parker had to withdraw “due to unforeseen circumstances”). The brand unveiled its own award, the Innovation Award, which went to Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop this time around and Kim Kardashian’s Skims in 2022.

A few recipients, including those for the Environmental Sustainability Award, Innovation Award, Fashion Icon, Board of Director’s Tribute, Founder’s Award, Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Media Award, and International Designer of the Year, were revealed in advance. Alina Cho is the first Asian-American to win the Media Award, as we did discover. The four major winners—accessory designer, menswear designer, womenswear designer, and emerging designer—were chosen in real time by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, which is made up of fashionista editors and other industry professionals.

American Menswear Designer of the Year:

Willy Chavarria

American Accessory Designer of the Year:

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

American Emerging Designer of the Year:

Rachel Scott for Diotima

American Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Fashion Icon:

Serena Williams

Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion:


Board of Director’s Tribute:

Vera Wang

Founder’s Award:

Domenico De Sole, in honor of Eleanor Lambert

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Maria Cornejo

Media Award:

Alina Cho, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Environmental Sustainability Award:

Mara Hoffman

International Designer of the Year:

Jonathan Anderson for J.W. Anderson and Loewe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *